Databases and Indexes
Accessing Databases from Off-Campus
America, history and life online
Index to political, social, and economic history of the U.S. and Canada from ca. 1450 A.D.
American memory (Library of Congress)
Primary sources in American history and culture: documents, photographs, recordings, motion pictures
Annual reviews
Search index for Annual Review of Anthropology, ...Sociology, ...Public Health, ...Psychology, etc.
Anthropology Plus
Index to journals at the Museum of Mankind Library (London) and journals at the Tozzer Library (Harvard University) in anthropology, archaeology, linguistics
Anthropology bibliography on disc
Catalog of books at the Tozzer Library (Harvard University) in anthropology, archaeology, linguistics
Arts & humanities search (Firstsearch)
Index to arts and humanities journals
Biological Abstracts
An index with abstracts to periodicals in biology and the life sciences.
Black studies on disc
Index to journals and books on peoples of African ancestory, Africa, African Americans, Black culture
Cross-cultural CD
Compares social conditions in 30 societies around the world in the 19th and 20th centuries
Expanded academic ASAP (Infotrac Web)
GEOBASE (Firstsearch)
Index with abstracts for physical and human geography, geology, ecology, and third world studies.
Historical abstracts on line
Indexes historical materials from 1450, outside of the United States
HLAS (Handbook of Latin American studies online)
Bibliography on all aspects of Latin American studies (Archaeology, Ethnohistory and Ethnology, Art, Geography, etc.)
Ingenta
Indexes more than 17,000 periodicals in all subject areas
JSTOR
Full online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, anthropology, sociology, education, literature, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Does not include recent articles.
LLBA (Linguistics & language behavior abstracts) (WebSPIRS)
Index for all aspects of language, including sociolinguistics, lexicology, grammar, language acquisition
MarciveWeb DOCS
Includes citations to government documents on Archaeology, Historical preservation, Prehistoric peoples, Indians of North America, and Environment
PsycINFO
Index with abstracts for psychology and related disciplines (including sociology, linguistics, anthropology)
RILM abstracts of musical literature
Index with abstracts on all aspects of music, including ethnomusicology
WorldCat (Firstsearch)
An index to over 40 million books and other titles cataloged by libraries throughout the U.S.
E-mail questions and comments to:
millercy@jmu.edu
