JMU Home
Search
FAQ
Carrier Library | CISAT Library | CIT | Media Resources | Music Library | Special Collections

Databases Home

Help!

Off Campus Access Instructions

Database Tips:


Look for this icon in each database to link to full-text:

When you know of a journal title you need, use Periodical Locator

When you know a book title you need, use LEO.

To request materials not found in either, use Interlibrary Loan.

More Research
Internet Search
LEO Library Catalog
Periodical Locator
Quick Reference
Research Databases
Research Guides


Electronic Database Evaluation Form (send to faganjc@jmu.edu)

Your Name: __________________________________   Date: _________________________

Product Name: __________________________________________

 


Questions

[You may answer as many questions as you like.]

1. Comment on the APPROPRIATENESS of the database (Is the coverage and currency adequate? Is the database appropriate for Carrier Library users?)

2. Comment on the RESPONSE TIME and STABILITY of the database (Does it freeze up, time-out, or suddenly end without warning or cause? Was the response time adequate?)

3. Comment on the SEARCH INTERFACE (Are fields clearly labeled? Are there adequate numbers of searchable fields? Are there adequate search options [Boolean, truncation, etc.]? Are help screens readily available and clearly presented? Is there a thesaurus?)

4. Comment on the SEARCH RESULTS (Are the search history and results clearly presented? Can you easily combine past searches? Are the results adequately formatted for printing? Are descriptor terms hyperlinked?)

5. Comment on the overall QUALITY of the product (Is it designed sensibly? Is the interface legible? How does it compare to formats we may now own in the library [print or DOS CD-ROM?] )

6. Are there any problems or issues that we should consider before acquiring this database?

7. Would you recommend purchasing this product?

8. Other comments:

 
About Us | Help | Research | Services
Libraries & Educational Technologies | MSC 1704 | Harrisonburg, VA, 22807 | (540) 568-6150
©2005 | Electronic Resources Terms & Conditions | JMU Privacy Statement | Contact Webmaster