The following products were under trial by JMU Libraries, 8/15/05 - 9/15/05 except where noted otherwise. These are available only on-campus to JMU affiliates, who are encouraged to e-mail Jody Fagan with the evaluation form or other comments. If you'd like to recommend a database for us to purchase, please contact your library liaison.
General |
|
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary, full-text aggregate database.
|
|
ProQuest Academic Research Library
|
[ more info ] |
Ebooks.com (librarian view)
|
more info can be found in the Ebook Library Help |
eBrary
"ebrary® aggregates full-text books and other authoritative documents designed to meet the needs of academic, government, and public libraries. We currently offer more than 60,000 titles from more than 200 of the world’s leading publishers." |
[ user guide ] |
Facts.com and Reference Suite from Facts on File News Services (ENDS 8/31/05)
Reference Information from the publishers of Facts on File includes a 65 year backfile.
|
|
Digital Dissertations/ Dissertations & Theses Database (ProQuest)
|
|
Learning Express Library
Online collection of academic practice tests.
Enter the 14-digit username and password provided below.
Your Username and Password to begin the evaluation is:
99376 followed by the first 9 digits of your home phone# starting with your area code as your Username. (Note: since a phone number is 10-digits, using 9-digits protects your privacy, yet enables a unique password to be created).
Password: Trial
|
|
Testing and Education Reference (Gale)
Access to Peterson's College information, online practice tests and more!
|
[more info] - title list |
The Great Lecture Library
"The Great Lecture Library is comprised of lectures and sermons that have taken place at the incomparable Chautauqua Institution. "
|
|
CQ Weekly Online (ends 9/30/05)
"CQ Weekly reports on the world's most powerful legislative body completely and accurately every week" |
[ more info ] |
Gallup Brain (ends 9/30/05)
"A searchable, living record of 70 years of public opinion. Inside, you'll find answers to more than 136,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by The Gallup Poll since 1935"
|
|
Polling the Nations
Collection of polls and surveys
|
|
iPoll (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research) NEW!
|
|
Gutenberg E - extended thru Sep 18th
"The Gutenberg-e prizewinning books represent the most distinguished and innovative scholarship delivered with creative and thoughtful use of digital technology"
|
[ more info ] |
Vault.com
Library of career guides.
Due to vendor restrictions, this resource available only to Library faculty and staff, who should access the link via Staffweb, Digital Services, Research Databases. Access is also avialable to any JMU faculty member; simply email faganjc@jmu.edu for access information.
|
[ more info ] |
Ancestry.com
Note: Ancestry Library Edition overlaps most of this content, just not all the individualizable features. |
|
Genealogy.com (public site only)
|
|
Ancestry Library Edition (ProQuest)
"genealogy research tool ... With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases" |
[ more info ] |
Marquis Who's Who (ENDS 9/9/2005)
|
[ more info ] |
Who's Who in Biography Resource Center ( starts on 9/16/2005 and ends on 10/16/2005 )
|
|
Newspaper Direct Press Display (ProQuest)
"provides online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. The ever-expanding collection currently includes over 225 titles. Titles boast a 45 day backfile"
|
[ more info ] |
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Aggregated newspaper colleciton
|
|
OxResearch (ProQuest) a.k.a. Oxford Analytica
"Provides succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance." For the trial, it's on it's own, but since it's ABI indexed, if we subscribed, it would be searchable within ABI as well.
|
|
Oxford Digital Reference -
The " Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America" and "Encyclopedia of Evolution" and "Ency of Theatre & Performance," ONLY
|
|
Periodicals Contents Index Full Text (ProQuest)
20th century periodicals, through 1995. "this database will undergo a major re-vamp in the fall to make
it more streamlined and functional. While the content will mainly be the same (the new version will have TOCs and other non-article content), it will run much more smoothly, quickly, and intuitively within a few months."
|
[ more info ] |
RefShare
Allows use of Shared Folders in RefWorks. From within RefWorks, see "RefWorks Shared Area" under View, and "Shared Folders" under Folders. See Detailed info is in RefWorks' Help pages under RefShare.
|
|
RefWorks, Scopus Edition
Allows direct connection between Scopus and RefWorks' databases.
To trial, create a Scopus account and edit your Scopus account settings to include your RefWorks account information. Detailed info is in RefWorks' Help pages.
|
|
World Christian Database
|
|
XreferPlus.com
"features authoritative, aggregated content from over 160 reference books and 40 publishers, with nearly 2 million entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology and more"
|
[ title list ]
[ Features ] |
ARBA Online ( through 9/29/05)
|
|
The Sciences |
|
Biological Abstracts (EBSCO)
|
|
| Biological Abstracts (ISI) 9/14/05 - 10/1/05 |
|
| BIOSIS Previews (ISI) 9/14/05 - 10/1/05 |
|
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
http://eureka.rlg.org/Eureka/zgate2.prod?ACTION=INIT&LIMFIL=HST |
|
Health Sciences |
|
Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews - Series A (8/17/05 - 9/30/05)
The username and password are case sensitive and should be entered as shown above.
|
|
Nutrition and Food Sciences Database (8/17/05 - 9/30/05)
NOTE: You will have to enter it twice
The username and password are case sensitive and should be entered as shown above.
|
|
CAB Abstracts (EBSCO)
|
|
CAB Abstracts (ISI) |
|
CAB Abstracts 1973 to Date (OVID)
|
|
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (OVID)
|
|
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
|
|
Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
|
|
Education |
|
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)
Aggregate journal package, some embargos.
|
|
Social Sciences |
|
Source OECD Periodicals (through Sep 30)
A mega-site of books, periodicals, statistics, working papers, and reference |
[ more info ] - "for librarians" |
Bibliography of Native North Americans
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&group=trial&profile=ehost&defaultdb=fph |
|
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
eHRAF Collection of Archaeology
|
|
International Political Science Abstracts (EBSCO)
|
|
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (EBSCO)
NEW! BiblioLine Trial of MECAS! (expires 10/26/05) http://biblioline.nisc.com/scripts/login.dll?BiblioLine&dbname=QMCS |
|
Psychiatry Online (ends 9/18/05)
|
[ intro ] |
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences (EBSCO)
Aggregated journal collection
|
|
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
EBSCO's competitor to Sociological Abstracts
|
|
Women's Studies International (EBSCO)
|
|
PolicyFile
" collects data from world renowned public policy think tanks " |
|
Business |
|
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
|
|
U.S. Business Reporter
EXPIRED -- renewal has been requested
|
|
Safari Business Books
Note: when you get in, it says Safari Tech Books, but it includes the business titles. |
[more info] - title list |
Faulkner (FAITS) - ends September 30
Reports about "events and trends that are shaping and redefining the computer and communications marketplace" |
[ more info ] |
CoreCompensation
"an extensive and growing database of more than 6,000 companies and 50,000 executives ... pay packages"
|
|
CoreReference
(see Core Compensation for username, password info)
"screen across public companies using a variety of financial, executive and compensation criteria" |
|
BNA Tax Management Portfolios (ends 9/15/05)
|
|
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
EBSCO's comptetitor for ABI/Inform
|
|
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Even more content than Business Source Premier. |
|
Business Searching Interface
Another interface to Business Source Premier, created especially for the business searcher.
-- use above link to Business Source Premier. |
[ more info ] - FAQ |
Morningstar
Username: jmuniversity Password: library
Mutual Fund Ratings online
|
|
GMID - Global Market Information Database
|
|
MarketResearch.com
|
|
Music |
|
Naxos Music Library
Online audio files of classical and jazz music.
|
|
Humanities |
|
Book Review Digest Retro, 1905-1982 (Wilson) (through Sep 30)
|
|
Bibliographic Index Plus (Wilson) (through Sep 30)
|
|
Film Index International (ProQuest)
"like the International Indexes to Music and Performing Arts, there is a cross
searchable portal [Film Indexes Online] between Film Index International and the American Film
Institute that works in a similar way." |
|
Gallery Watch - renewed through Sep. 16th
|
|
International directory of the performing arts
|
|
|