Database Tips:
Look for this icon in each database to link to full-text:
When you know of a journal title you need, use Periodical Locator
When you know a book title you need, use LEO.
To request materials not found in either, use Interlibrary Loan.
|
 |
Expired Electronic Resource Trials, Summer 2006
JMU Libraries regularly trials new electronic resources. f you'd like to recommend a database for us to purchase, please contact your library liaison.
Database Name: |
Expires: |
| |
|
| Access World News Connection (Newsbank) |
July 31, 2006 |
ARTBibliographies Modern |
July 15, 2006 |
| Art & Design Package from CSA: includes BHA, ARTBibliographies Modern, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, and Design & Applied Arts Index |
July 15, 2006 |
Accounting Research Manager (CCH)
protected - email faganjc@jmu.edu for username/password
|
July 17, 2006 |
African American Studies Center (Oxford) |
July 15, 2006 |
African Writers' Series (ProQuest) |
July 15, 2006 |
Anatomy.tv
|
July 15, 2006 |
Armed Conflict Database |
July 13, 2006 |
Bibliographic Index Plus
you will need to select this database from the mail Wilson screen
|
July 15, 2006 |
Biography Reference Bank, Biography Index (Wilson)
you will need to select either or both of these databases from the main Wilson screen before searching.
|
July 1, 2006 |
Black Short Fiction (Alexander Street Press) |
August 12, 2006 |
C19 (ProQuest)
19th century index |
July 15, 2006 |
EEBO: Early English Books Online (ProQuest) |
July 15, 2006 |
E-EROS: Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis. |
June 30, 2006 |
Empire Online |
June 15-July 15, 2006 |
Gallery Watch - compare with Lexis Nexis CRDC
URL: http://crs.gallerywatch.com
User ID: CRSTrial99
Password: CRS2345 |
|
Historical Statistics of the U.S. -- VIVA trial |
July 1, 2006 |
Latin American Women Writers (Alexander Street Press) |
August 12, 2006 |
Latino Literature (Alexander Street Press) |
August 12, 2006 |
Lexis-Nexis Congressional Research Digital Prospective and Retrospective |
July 15, 2006 |
New Republic Archive / National Review Archive
UserID: james
Password: trial |
July 15, 2006 |
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online |
July 15, 2006 |
Past Masters (Primary Sources of Philosophers - several)
There is a brief recorded demonstration of the online workspace at: http://www.nlx.com/tutorials/PastMastersDemo_viewlet_swf.html
|
July 15, 2006 |
Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archives Online (ProQuest)
The "Archive" is the full text - the "Index" is everything else. |
July 15, 2006 |
Polling the Nations - 5 users
jmu
fagan |
July 15, 2006 |
Praeger Security International
If off-campus:
username: jmuniv
password: library
Compare with:
International Security & Counter Terrorism (EBSCO)
Specialized Interface - ISCTRC
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=isc
EBSCOhost Interface - ISCTRC
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=tsh
|
July 31, 2006
July 31, 2006 |
| |
|
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries |
August 12, 2006 |
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage |
August 1, 2006 |
Standard & Poor's Research Insight North America
Requires software download. Click the RIWeb link under the Download section on the website for instructions on how to download the software
Compare with:
Wharton Research Data Service - contains CRSP AND Compustat. Trial is sample data only.
Username: wrds671
Password: Jmun671
|
July 15, 2006
July 11 through July 25
|
| |
|
| |
|
| INFORMAL TRIALS: the following have not yet been formally requested for consideration by JMU Libraries. If you would like to do so, please email faganjc@jmu.edu |
|
| |
|
EXPIRED TRIALS:
Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest) (product description)
password: welcome
Index to 15 million articles from more than 4,720 scholarly, international journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences. For a link to the index list for Periodicals Index Online click here: http://pio.chadwyck.co.uk/marketing/journalLists.jsp?collection=all (or browse the titles by subject, language or alpha within the trial) |
May 15, 2006 |
Periodicals Archive Online - full text to support PIO (product description)
password: welcome
Around 70% of each collection is peer-reviewed or older, scholarly journals that did not have that designation when published. For a link to the Full Text title lists, please visit: http://pao.chadwyck.co.uk/marketing/titles.jsp |
May 15, 2006 |
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (product description)
password: welcome
- Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue:
- The Nineteenth Century: 29,000 records from Chadwyck-Healey’s ongoing microform project at the British Library, The Nineteenth Century. Records include microfiche numbers
- Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archive Online (1790-1919): Almost 3.5 million citations to articles from over 900 scholarly journals.
- American Periodicals Series (1791-1919) (JMU owns)
- Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals (1824-1900):
- British Periodicals (coming soon from ProQuest)
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (1801-1900)
- Palmer’s Index to the Times (1790–1905)
|
May 15, 2006 |
Digital National Security Archive (product description)
password: welcome |
May 15, 2006 |
Gerritsen Collection--Women History Online, 1543-1945 (product description):
password: welcome |
May 15, 2006 |
| |
|
| |
|
Available for one-time purchase:
CQ:
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (product description) (expires May 6th)
This is the archive portion corresponding to our current subscription to CQ Researcher. Search all our CQ products at the same time with the CQ Electronic Library
Lexis Nexis Congressional Research Digital Collection (coming soon)
Oxford Scholarship Online (full text access expired Feb 22, 2006 - index still searchable)
a cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,000 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.
ProQuest: African Writers Series ends 4/28/2006
URL: http://collections.chadwyck.com
ProQuest: Early English Books Online (EEBO) ends 4/28/2006
URL: http://eebo.chadwyck.com
Readex:
Shaw-Shoemaker Digital edition (now active)
Early American Newspapers, Series I (coming soon)
Early American Newspapers, Series II (coming soon)
American Broadsides and Ephemera (coming soon)
http://infoweb.newsbank.com
and click on the product of your choice
Available by subscription:
CQ Congress Collection (expires May 6th)
or search all our CQ products at the same time with the CQ Electronic Library
Plunkett Research Online (expires 5/1/2006)
"exceptional tools to help you with business and industry research"
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (ending 4/30/06)
go to Iter's home page at www.IterGateway.org and click on "Search a Database." A page listing links to each resource, entitled, "What would you like to search," will display. Click on the link corresponding to the resource you wish to search. Shortcuts to the online journals are: URL for RQ: http://www.itergateway.org/rq URL for ET: http://www.itergateway.org/et URL for R&R: http://www.itergateway.org/rr
Access World News Collection (expires 4/28/06)
includes the Daily News Record - highlighted at URL below.
http://infoweb.newsbank.com
Early English Books Online (EEBO) ends 4/28/2006
URL: http://eebo.chadwyck.com
Chadwyck-Healey Literature collections: including
Annual Biography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) ends 4/28/2006
and
African Writers Series
URL: http://collections.chadwyck.com
Literature Online (LION) ends 4/28/2006
URL: http://lion.chadwyck.com
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale) - ends 4/19/2006
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/viva_jmu?db=ECCO
username: viva_jmu
password: viva_jmu
Shaw-Shoemaker Digital edition
(expires 4/20/2006)
http://infoweb.newsbank.com
and click on Shaw-Shoemaker
Empire Online (expires 3/15/2006)
Username: Emp113
Password: MLG6FTCX
Please follow this link to access the log-in page and then type in the username and password listed above.
Defining Gender Online (expires 3/15/2006)
Username: Gen106
Password: JC3XD4DE
Please follow this link to access the log-in page and then type in the username and password listed above.
Women in the National Archives (expires 3/15/2006)
Username: WINA19
Password: PHJAMESMAD
Please follow this link to access the log-in page and then type in the username and password listed above.
Oxford Scholarship Online (expires Feb 22, 2006)
a cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,000 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.
Oxford Reference Online
Premium PLUS Western Civilization collection (expires Mar. 9, 06)
http://www.oxfordreference.com
MarketResearch.com Academic
Market reports covering numerous industries.
See expired database trials, Fall 2005 and Spring 2005
|