JMU Home
Search
FAQ
Carrier Library | CIT | East Campus Library | Media Resources | Music Library | Special Collections

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

ERIC (EBSCO)
An index with abstracts to educational periodicals and unpublished documents since 1966. Searching is restricted to JMU users. Offers more advanced search features than the free version.  Includes links to selected full text articles.  Uses the same underlying thesaurus as the free ERIC site.

ERIC
An index with abstracts to educational periodicals and unpublished documents since 1966, with additional resources for teachers.  Searching and use of the online thesaurus is free to all users. For JMU users, includes links to selected full text. 

Important Notes About Locating ERIC Documents & Articles

ERIC "ED" Documents 

  • ERIC Documents are listed in the database with accession numbers that begin with the letters "ED" (for example, ED64528). 

  • About 92% of the ERIC Documents from 1993 to the present are available online through links in the ERIC database. The library provides the full text Documents to JMU and on-campus users through a subscription to EDRS E*Subscribe.  

  • Most of the rest of the ERIC Documents are available on microfiche.  They are located on the second floor of Carrier Library, filed by ED number in the ERIC microfiche cabinets.

  • Some ERIC Documents, primarily books, are not available online or on microfiche. Search LEO for the book title to find out whether the library owns the book.

ERIC "EJ" Journal Articles 

  • ERIC Journal articles are listed in the database with an Accession Number that begin with the letters "EJ."

  • Look for a LinkFinderPlus link or search for the journal title in Periodical Locator to find out whether the library owns the journal.

Need help?  Ask! 


Use your browser's "Back" button to return to the preceding page.


About Us | Help | Research | Services
Libraries & Educational Technologies | MSC 1704 | Harrisonburg, VA, 22807 | (540) 568-6150
©2005 | Electronic Resources Terms & Conditions | JMU Privacy Statement | Contact Webmaster