Skip to content

James Madison University
Libraries

Hours, Contacts & Maps

Printer iconPrinter Friendly Version

Databases with Videos

JMU Libraries' Media Resources is also a great place to find videos.

Databases which contain videos:

includes video contentAmerican Memory (Library of Congress)
Digitized collections of primary source materials at the Library of Congress on American history and culture.

includes video content

Columbia Earthscape
Earth and environmental sciences journal abstracts and articles.  Search on video to find short, educational video clips.

includes video content

Google Video
Search engine to television and other video sources, with some video clips.

includes video content

HEAL Library (Health Education Assets Library)
Provides freely accessible digital teaching resources. Downloading requires users to submit a free registration.

includes video content

Internet Archive: Moving Images Archive
A cornucopia of freely-available and usable digitized films.

includes video content

Online Video Collection
A growing collection of educational video programs in all subject areas.
This collection is part of the Madison Digital Image Database (MDID), where
it can be searched by title, keyword and broad subject heading. Titles can also be searched in Leo, the online catalog, and can be browsed in the Special Leo List of online videos. Many titles are also available on videotape or DVD, primarily at the Media Resources Center.

includes video contentResearch Channel
"The C-SPAN of scientific and medical research" provided by leading research universities, institutions and corporate research centers.

includes video contentUniversity Channel

Videos of academic lectures and events from all over the world. An initiative of Princeton University's Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs.

includes video content

Vanderbilt Television News Archive: Index to television network news from 1968, with streaming CNN video from 1996.

 

Databases which help find videos:

Dance Collection Catalog
A catalog of books, videos, journal titles and other materials in the New York Public Library Dance Collection.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Use the "Publication Type" field (scroll down!) to limit to Audio/Video Non-print Materials (All).

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Catalog of over 40 million titles cataloged by libraries worldwide.  Limit to "Visual Materials" or add " Videorecording" as a keyword to your search.
 

wwiTV.com
wwiTV.com is a guide to find and access streaming media available on the web. Listings include live internet TV stations and radio on stations from around the world.

 

  
Contact Us | Contact Webmaster | Giving to JMU Libraries | Staff Directory | Working at JMU Libraries


©2014 | Electronic Resources Terms & Conditions | JMU Privacy Statement
This page may be monitored with Google Analytics.
Last updated: Wednesday, August 29, 2012

James Madison University logo
Libraries and Educational Technologies logo